The castle is located in the north-east of the town. It sits atop a small hill, and is very close to the Santiago el Mayor parish church. Seville council built the castle over the remains of an ancient Moorish minaret. Alfonso X (the Wise) cited the castle in 1264. In 1368, it was destroyed by Muhammed V of Granada and was later rebuilt at the end of the 14th century. It was abandoned at the end of the 15th century until the present day, and has recently been restored.
Its floor plan is rectangular, fitting the topography of the hill at the north-east and south-east of the castle. It has four square towers, which are smaller at the corners on the inside of the walled precinct. Each has a rectangular floor plan and are wider at the north-eastern and south-eastern sides where they adapt to the escarpment. The outer towers and curtain walls were built using the rammed-earth technique. The difference in design could be because the external towers would have acted as buttresses as some have fully collapsed.
On the escarped north-east face stands a round-arch opening entrance, defended by the Torre del Homenaje tower, an edifice with a square floor plan, built with wide corners similar to Alcoriza stone and central taipa walls. This is the best-preserved tower, especially its interior structure. It has two floors covered by eight-part vaults: the lower floor atop squinches and a pendentive dome; the upper floor boasts wide central windows.