The ancient Santa María parish church was formerly Gothic-Mudejar in style. It is believed to have been built by Pedro Fernández Gragera, knight at the service of Saint Ferdinand during the reconquest of Écija. According to sources, it was completed in 1262.
Structurally, it consists of three naves and a polygonal apse. Two further naves were added later, which lend the church an irregular floor plan. It also boasts a tower, orange-tree courtyard and cemetery. The building underwent important reforms throughout the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. The church was demolished in 1758 and a new, neoclassical floor plan constructed.
The Sacramental Chapel adjoining the Evangelist nave has one single nave. A mid-eighteenth-century shrine-style retablo is located in the altar, which once served as the parish’s altar of repose.
Between 1953 and 1954, Joaquín Ojeda Osuna and Ricardo Comas Fagundo provided the chapel with lavish decoration in the form of frescoes. They reflect a wide array of iconography, including phylacteries and inscriptions, clearly influenced by Sevillan Baroque.
The Parish Museum is located in the church’s courtyard. It exhibits a collection of prehistoric, Roman and Arabic remains. One of the most valuable pieces is the marble head of Germanicus, from the Roman era.