Santa Cruz church was built between 1776 and 1836 over the site of previous constructions, from which Visigoth capitals and a blind arch with Arabesque yeseria and a Mudejar emblem are preserved. The current church consists of three naves, each with five sections, and houses interesting Baroque pieces. The eighteenth-century main altarpiece came from the La Concepción de los Mercedarios convent. It is dedicated to Our Lady of the Valley, a circa-1575 sculpture from the Jerónimo Hernández circle. It features an interesting fifth-century paleo-Christian sarcophagus with biblical scenes carved in stone. The church also houses the town’s Sacred Art Museum, which exhibits an extensive collection of eighteenth-century silver- and goldsmithery, including osculatories, panels, float frames, lecterns, altar cards, paintings, sculptures, furniture, ornamental picture frames, holy water vessels, and bells. The most interesting items are an outstanding Nanban “Shokendai” lectern, which was made in 1573 in Japan during the Momoyama Period, and a gilded silver monstrance by Francisco de Alfaro Hernández in 1586 (Seville).
The tower is Renaissance in style. Visitors can admire an impressive view from its bell tower and take in the town’s other numerous towers and steeples.
The Mudejar Arch that stands in the church entrance is from Alfonso X’s reconquest in 1263 and once belonged to a Gothic-Mudejar church. The arch, part of the cloister and the tower are the only elements that withstood the test of time. The remainder of the building disappeared in 1775 when it was demolished in view of constructing a new church.