The tower is an exceptional piece in the monumental town centre. It is made from stone and ashlar, which has been delicately and beautifully worked: its presence is wonderful. The tower forms part of the church’s portal, making its even more beautiful. It is a unique artistic corner. The La Merced church, in its current location, was built in 1650, although it underwent extensive remodelling during the second half of the 18th century. The friars arrived in Osuna in 1609 and they initially settled in the Santa Ana chapel, located on the town’s outskirts. Following two failed attempts, in 1637, they managed to erect their new monastery in the space where it remains today. The clearest references we have for this church are from the 18th century, in which important works were carried out. The author of the costly enterprise, Vicar General of the Order, Friar Miguel Ramón de San José was a native of Osuna. He reconstructed the church, its wonderful stone portal, its magnificent tower, the Genova marble flooring and its altarpieces. The works were carried out between 1768 and 1775, under the supervision of Antonio Ruiz Florindo, who also built the Casa del Cabildo Colegial in the Calle San Pedro.
calle labrador, 3, Osuna